View page as slide show

PHY131 Studio Fall 2017

Important Documents

Finding the professor

Office hours: Prof. Dawber will be available on Monday and Wednesday from 1:30PM-2:30PM in B104 Physics.

Outside of class and office hours the best way to contact Prof. Dawber is by email:

The TAs for the course also have office hours:

Matt: Wednesday 3-4pm A129/A131

Dallas: Friday 2-3pm A129

Class Schedule

Note: There may be be revisions of lecture notes in advance of the class in which they will be covered.

Chapter 1 - Units, Measurement and Uncertainty Monday 28th August
Chapter 2 - 1 Dimensional Motion Wednesday 30th August
Lab 1 - Acceleration Friday 1st September
Labor Day Holiday - No Class Monday 4th September
Chapter 3 - Two dimensional kinematics Wednesday 6th September
Lab 2 - Projectile Motion Friday 8th September
Chapter 3 - Relative Velocity and other 2D vector problems Monday 11th September
Chapter 4 - Newton's Laws of Motion Wednesday 13th September
Lab 3 - Atwood's Machine Friday 15th September
Chapter 5 - Using Newton's Laws of Motion Monday 18th September
Chapter 6 - Gravitation Wednesday 20th September
Lab 4 - Centripetal Force Friday 22nd September
Chapter 7 - Work and Energy Monday 25th September
Chapter 8 - Conservation of Energy Wednesday 27th September
Lab 5 - Conservation of Energy Friday 29th September
Midterm 1 Review 1 Monday 2nd October
Midterm 1 Review 2 Wednesday 4th October
Midterm 1 Friday 6th October
Chapter 9 - Linear Momentum and collisions Monday 9th October
Chapter 9 - 2D Momentum problems and center of mass Wednesday 11th October
Lab 6 - Conservation of Momentum Friday 13th October
Chapter 10 - Rotational Kinematics Monday 16th October
Chapter 10 - Rotational Dynamics Wednesday 18th October
Lab 7 - Angular Momentum Friday 20th October
Chapter 11 - Angular Momentum Monday 23rd October
Chapter 12 - Static Equilibrium, Elasticity and Fracture Wednesday 25th October
Chapter 13 - Fluids Friday 27th October
Midterm 2 Review 1 Monday 30th October
Midterm 2 Review 2 Wednesday 1st November
Midterm 2 Friday 3rd November
Chapter 14 - Oscillations Monday 6th November
Chapter 15 - Waves Wednesday 8th November
Lab 8 - Simple Harmonic Motion Friday 10th November
Chapter 16 - Sound Monday 13th November
Chapter 17 - Temperature, thermal expansion and gas laws Wednesday 15th November
Lab 9 - Speed of Sound in Air Friday 17th November
Chapter 18 -Kinetic Theory of Gases Monday 20th November
Thanksgiving Holiday - No Class Wednesday 22nd November
Thanksgiving Holiday - No Class Friday 24th November
Chapter 19 - Heat and the First Law of Thermodynamics Monday 27th November
Lab 10 - Thermodynamics Simulations Wednesday 29th November
Chapter 20 - Second Law of Thermodynamics Friday 1st December
Final Review 1 Monday 4th December
Final Review 2 Wednesday 6th December
Final Review 3 Friday 8th December
Final Exam Thursday 14th December (2:15PM-5:00PM)

Deadlines

Homework sets must be submitted by midnight on the day on which they are due. The amount of help provided will diminish sharply as the deadline approaches, particularly outside of reasonable working hours. Not all homework sets have the same number of items. Each homework item (rather than assignment) will have equivalent weight in determining your grade.

Homework Set 1 due Wednesday 6th September
Homework Set 2 due Monday 11th September
Homework Set 3 due Monday 18th September
Homework Set 4 due Monday 25th September
Homework Set 5 due Monday 2nd October
Lab Report 1 (on one of Labs 2-4) due Wednesday 4th October
Homework Set 6 due Monday 16th October
Homework Set 7 due Monday 23rd October
Homework Set 8 due Monday 30th October
Lab Report 2 (on one of Labs 5-7) due Friday 10th November
Homework Set 9 due Monday 13th November
Homework Set 10 due Monday 20th November
Lab Report 3 (on one of Labs 8-9) due Friday 8th December
Homework Set 11 due Wednesday 6th December
phy131studiof17/lectures.txt · Last modified: 2017/11/20 10:40 by mdawber
CC Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported
Driven by DokuWiki